Georgetown Rive Gauche

Turning a House into a Home.  I left Paris in 2009 brokenhearted and homesick.  My consolation was a little brownstone I had fallen in love with and managed to purchase in Georgetown’s East Village.  

I enlisted the help of two talented, generous and resourceful friends to transform it into my own little Parisian apartment in the middle of Georgetown.  We scoured craigslist, estate sales, flea markets and antique dealers to find those little French touches, while remaining within my very limited budget.

The photos below show the interior of the house as depicted on the flyer I picked up during my whirlwind tour of properties (oh là là those avocado walls in the master bedroom).

FullSizeRender-1

The years I spent in that house turned out to be some of the happiest of my life.  This was not because I was where I wanted to be (Paris), but because among other reasons, home is ultimately where the heart is, and I had put mine into decorating that sweet little place. Decorate with love and let your personality shine through, no matter the size of the project or the budget.

 

 

Leave a Reply

