The Liebster Award

Headshot 1

The Liebster Award is given by bloggers to other bloggers in an effort to bring attention to their work, and to help them attract new readers. Many thanks to Janette of Stylish Theory for my nomination. Check out our Q & A to get to know a little more about me.

What inspired you to start a blog? I started my blog as a creative outlet, and as a platform to share the things, places, people and experiences that I love with likeminded readers.

If there was only one thing readers would get from your blog, what would it be? Hopefully, to quote the one and only JLo, that “I’m Real.” I’m not trying to showcase a charmed and perfectly styled life, because there is just no such thing. I want to be known as a blogger who makes the most of who she is rather than what she has, and who speaks her mind with honesty, depth, and humor. Also, I clean up pretty well, so I’m ok with being considered stylish.

How would you describe your style? Bold but effortless. I’m a very careful shopper:  I make sure that I absolutely love every piece that I purchase, that it’s unique in some way or another, and that it fits me well. But when it comes to getting dressed, I actually find that the more time I spend planning an outfit, the less comfortable I will feel wearing it. I prefer to be spontaneous and take whatever fashion risk (if any) feels right when I’m standing in front of my closet and the clock is ticking. This drives my husband a little crazy because he likes to coordinate with what I’m wearing when we go out, but neither one of us knows what that will be until 30 minutes before we leave. Also, I don’t like “perfect.” Perfect is boring.

What is your to go garment? And why? This is like asking me to choose a favorite child! If I have to single out one item that can be styled to fit just about any mood, occasion and season, it’s my black leather skinnies (jeans or leggings). I love their versatility and their edge, and whether I dress them up or down, I always feel confident, feminine, and sexy when I’m wearing them.

What motivates you? Joy. That may sound weird, but it’s true. Life is short – better to spend it looking for and doing the things that bring you some.

Share with us something we don’t know about you? I’m closer to 50 than to 40. Next.

What risk would you take if you knew you couldn’t fail? I’d ask Anna Wintour for her job.

If joy became the national currency, what kind of work would make you wealthy? I would be a performer – a singer and/or dancer to be precise. Well, Madonna or Beyoncé to really be precise.

What’s your greatest accomplishment? My family. I have two amazing sons, I didn’t give up on love until I found my soul mate (rather late in life, I might add) whose kids are great, and together we’ve formed a happy blended family.

Who is your inspiration? I’m more inspired by experiences – a great performance, a stunning location, or an exceptional creation, for example – than by people. That said, my husband and kids inspire me to be my best self every single day. They deserve nothing less.

What is your favorite quote and why? “A girl must be two things: classy, and fabulous” from Coco Chanel. In my mind, to be “classy” is to be graceful, kind, generous, gracious, and self-disciplined. To be “fabulous” is to be all of those things, but to say “To hell with it” once in a while and just shine, unapologetically. I can go either way 😉

So now it’s MY turn to pay it forward. I nominate:
  1. Abby from ParisWeekender
  2. Nola from OurWeekendKicks
  3. Stephanie from StephanieIris
  4. Kara from EverydaySoiree
  5. Rubi from WhenLifeGivesYouRubi
Here are the questions for my nominees:
  1. What is your idea of perfect happiness?
  2. What is your greatest extravagance?
  3. Which talent would you most like to have?
  4. What is your most treasured possession?
  5. What is your most marked characteristic?
  6. What is it that you most dislike?
  7. Who is your hero of fiction?
  8. Who are your heroes in real life?
  9. If you could come back as a person or thing, what would it be?
  10. If you could change one thing about yourself, what would it be?
  11. What is your motto?

On another note, I came back from my trip to California with lots of new ideas that I’ll be rolling out on my blog in the coming weeks – stay tuned! xx

Leave a Reply

