That Wood Watch Thing

One of the things that I love about Instagram is discovering new and unexpected fashion trends. This wood watch by JORD is the perfect example. To be honest, I had never even heard of wood watches before the kind folks over at JORD reached out to me about reviewing one.  I was not only flattered, but intrigued, so I did my Instagram research and quickly found that wood watches are indeed a “thing” among fellow grammers/fashion bloggers. Read on to find out why.

fullsizerender-4

They have so many styles that it was hard to choose one, but I was particularly drawn to the classic, sporty Cora model featured above.  The size of the watch is ideal for petite (5’5″) women like me because the face is not too large (37 mm) and the band is not too wide (18mm – 22mm).  I love the mix of the warm, earthy tones of the Zebrawood combined with the brilliant turquoise face on this iteration of the Cora (there are several other versions).  The casual, beachy almost (it must be the color combination) is elevated by the finer details on the watch, like the Swarovski crystal markers, and the small opening on the face of the watch that gives you a peak of the internal drive mechanism.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

I’m not one to wear many accessories, but the uniqueness of this piece makes it a go-to when I want to add a little pop to a basic, laid-back look, or when I’m wearing a lot of black (which happens to be the case quite often).  The fact that JORD wood watches are handcrafted in the USA using sustainable materials definitely adds to their appeal.  They would make great gifts for anyone on your holiday lists with a taste for original, fashionable, and eco-friendly items, including yourself!  Be sure to take advantage of the $25 gift card giveaway by clicking here before January 1st! (code expires on 2/28/17)

2 thoughts on “That Wood Watch Thing

Leave a Reply

