Belle de Nuit

sylvia-47sylvia-52sylvia-25sylvia-38sylvia-60sylvia-61sylvia-55sylvia-56MICHI Pistol Crop Top, Giorgio Armani satin skirt (similar here), Wide Laser-Cut Belt (similar here), Gucci rhinestone embellished evening sandals (similar here), Halston Heritage Minaudière (similar here)

When hubby and  I decided to attend a ball this year, I knew that I wanted to wear something long and dramatic. I have been hanging on to this Armani couture skirt, an impulse buy at Barney’s Warehouse for a New Year’s Eve Party over twenty years ago, for just such an occasion. I love the skirt’s color, a rich midnight blue, and its simple silhouette with dramatic details like that thigh-skimming side slit and long train.

I wanted to keep the look simple but edgy for this event. I thought it would be fun to do my duty as a MICHI brand ambassador and pair that couture skirt with one of their sexy, modern tops (check out my feature on MICHI designer Michelle Watson here). I tried several but ended up choosing this one because I love the cutout and mesh details and open back.

I added a wide belt not only to give the look a more polished feel, but also because it came in handy to tuck the train in for walking purposes. I found a lovely pair of black Gucci sling-back sandals on sale that really pulled the look together, and the rhinestone details definitely elevated the look.  Instead of jewelry, I wore a custom manicure that combined an ombré effect with sparkles in shades of blue.

My Halston minaudière was the obvious handbag choice, although I could barely fit my iPhone 7plus into it, which was a bit of problem.  Luckily for me, my date was a very tall man with correspondingly large suit pockets. 🙂

Photos: Hannah Ratcliff

Leave a Reply

