Red-bel Rebel

proofsss-1550sylvia

This (above) is what I would look like if someone were to call me a “preppy.”  For the record, I never was – I was already wearing mostly black in the 80s when being a preppy was actually a thing.  That said, I do love a great classic piece, like this cute blazer that I picked up on sale last winter at JCrew.

proofsss-1451sylviaproofsss-1462sylvia

The color combo really pops, and I love the details like the gold buttons and the contrasting lining that shows if you roll up the cuffs.  I found this version of the same blazer (the “Rhodes”) that has a similar feel.

proofsss-1557sylviaproofsss-1428sylvia

I wanted this would-be preppy blazer/shirt/jeans combo to have a bit of an edge to it, so I chose pieces with their own twist on classics. This white button-down by Parisian designer of the moment Marie Marot has a cute frill detail on the collar, and I love the rebellious feel of these crop flare jeans with frayed hems.

proofsss-1513sylviaproofsss-1676sylvia

Red is my favorite color, and I would wear these boots every day if I could. I can’t, but when the right outfit happens, they are magic! They work so well with this bag with the red arabesque overlay.  Granted, there’s a lot going on in terms of colors and textures and I may even be breaking one or two rules of fashion, but what can I say? I’m a rebel.

proofsss-1692sylviaproofsss-1721sylviaJCrew Multi-color Houndstooth Rhodes Blazer (similar here), Marie Morot frill trimmed Diana blouse, H&M crop flared jeans with frayed hems (similar here), Red Maison Valentino boots (similar here), Gucci Dionysus Arabesque BagCeline New Audrey Tortoise Sunglasses

Photos: Laurel Creative

Leave a Reply

